News and Blog

Beware of Domain Dispute and Registration emails

This is the latest email scam going around. Please be aware of this and do not act on it.

Emails are being sent out with the subject line “Domain Dispute and Registration”. These people introduce themselves as a domain registration service in Asia (A Chinese Phone Number is given). The email message states that they’ve received a formal application from someone who wants to use a “domain name” relevant to you.

It reads (for example)… “Last week we received a formal application submitted by Mr. George Zjou who wanted to use the keyword “hodgsonsinternet” to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.”

It says that after their initial examination they’ve found that the domain name applied for is “…the same as your domain name and trademark….” and that because this may produce a possible dispute they’ve put the registration on hold. They go on to say you have five days to reply or they will approve the application.

It’s yet another scam to try and get to your hard-earned cash. The premise being that you’ll pay them for those domains rather than letting someone else register them. This term is know as Cybersquatting — registering a domain name, then offering to sell the domain to the person or company who owns a trademark for an inflated price.

Anybody can register a domain name but in this instance we believe it is worth staying well away from companies like this. Please circulate this knowledge to anyone you feel its relevant.

Bookmarks:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks

5 Responses to “Beware of Domain Dispute and Registration emails”

  1. Paul Says:

    Cheers I will keep an eye out for that, there are some nasty people out there

    Paul

  2. Anne Says:

    I’ve had this email for the first time today, thanks for flagging it up, I was a tad worried by this one.

  3. ESMc Says:

    We got one of these today. I was already wary about it. It didn’t come to the address we have on file with our registration company. It came directly to our info box on the website.

  4. Adriana Campbell Says:

    Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…

  5. Matt Says:

    Just got the same thing. They are going around. Thanks for posting so we know it’s not isolated!

Leave a Reply